Greg Tagert – Gary SouthShore

tagertThe winningest skipper in team history, Greg Tagert returns for his 12th season with Gary SouthShore. Having led the RailCats to the 2013 American Association crown, Tagert has three championship titles along with two Manager of the Year awards.

Tagert, 50, arrived in Northwest Indiana in 2005, taking over a team that had set a league record for losses the previous season. His impact was immediate as the RailCats made the playoffs that season and won back-to-back five game series to win the Northern League Championship. After taking the RailCats to the brink of a title in 2006, the 2007 Gary SouthShore club collected a 58-38 regular season record and went on to win the title in another dramatic five-game series.

Tagert won his 700th career game in 2010. Originally from Vacaville, Calif., Tagert worked as a pitching coach for the University of New Mexico in 1988 and an associate scout for the Detroit Tigers in 1993-94. Tagert was a pitcher at San Francisco State University.

Year Club League Affiliate Level Record Finish Playoffs
1995 Ohio Valley Frontier Independent 36-34 5th/8
1996 Brainerd Prairie Independent 7-9
1997 Evansville Frontier Independent 46-33 2nd/8 Lost Finals
1998 Evansville Frontier Independent 43-36 4th/8 Lost Semifinals
1999 Evansville Frontier Independent 43-31 T-3rd/10 Lost Semifinals
2000 Evansville Frontier Independent 45-38 4th/10 Lost Finals
2001 Dubois County Frontier Independent 48-36 3rd/12 Lost Semifinals
2002 Dubois County Frontier Independent 52-32 3rd/12 Lost Semifinals
2003 Kenosha Frontier Independent 47-42 7th/12
2004 Ozark Frontier Independent 52-44 6th/12
2005 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 54-42 3rd/12 League Champions
2006 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 51-46 3rd/8 Lost Finals
2007 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 58-38 1st/8 League Champions
2008 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 56-40 2nd/6 Lost Finals
2009 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 57-39 1st/6 Lost Finals
2010 Gary SouthShore Northern Independent 52-48 4th/8 Lost Semifinals
2011 Gary SouthShore American Association Independent 54-46 5th/14
2012 Gary SouthShore American Association Independent 50-50 8th/13
2013 Gary SouthShore American Association Independent 58-41 3rd/13 League Champions
2014 Gary SouthShore American Association Independent 53-47 5th/12
2015 Gary SouthShore American Association Independent 45-55 T-8th/13