Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 995
Moorhead, MN 56561-0995
Telephone: (218) 512-0380


Year Founded: 2005
Directors: Jim Abel (Lincoln), Mark Brandmeyer  (Kansas City), Daryn Eudaly (Cleburne), Dr. Bob Froehlich (Kane County), Shawn Hunter (Chicago), Sam Katz (Winnipeg), Mark Ogren (Sioux Falls), John Roost (Sioux City), Patrick Salvi (Gary SouthShore), Bruce Thom (Fargo-Moorhead) and Mike Zimmerman (Milwaukee).
2021 Opening Date: May 18
2021 Closing Date: September 6
2021 Regular Season: 100 games
Division Structure:
North Division – Chicago Dogs, Gary SouthShore RailCats, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks, Kane County Cougars, Milwaukee Milkmen, Winnipeg Goldeyes
South Division –  Cleburne Railroaders, Houston Apollos (travel team), Kansas City T-Bones, Lincoln Saltdogs, Sioux City Explorers, Sioux Falls Canaries
2021 Playoff Format: Top two teams in regular season in each division play best-of-five Division Championship Series. Winners advance to play best-of-five American Association Finals.
Roster Limit: 23
Brand of Baseball: Rawlings

Joshua Schaub – Commissioner

Joshua Schaub was appointed Commissioner of the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball on March 1, 2019. He succeeds league founder Miles Wolff, who retired at the end of 2018 after 13 seasons as Commissioner.

Schaub is the chief executive for the American Association and oversees the American Association’s operations, expansion, technology enhancements, and relationships in professional baseball.

Schaub’s baseball background is extensive. He is the former CEO and co-owner of the Joliet Slammers baseball club of the Frontier League, a board member of the Frontier League and Prospect Leagues and has previously worked in the Milwaukee Brewers scouting department as an intern and associate. Schaub had also previously clerked for the Northern League.

Schaub is an attorney with Gutwein Law based in Minneapolis, where he focuses his practice on Sports and Entertainment Law. He serves as the Commissioner and General Counsel of the Major Arena Soccer League and is a co-founder of Da Beauty League, a summer hockey league for college and professional players based in the Twin Cities. In the past, he has served as an adjunct law school professor teaching Sports Law. Schaub is currently a mentor for TechStars Sports Tech accelerator, is a Twin Cities (Minnesota) board member for the American Cancer Society, and is the Co Vice Chair of the Sport, Art, and Entertainment section of the Minnesota Bar.

After acquiring an undergraduate degree at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in Exercise and Sports Science, Schaub earned his Juris Doctor from the William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota. While at William Mitchell, he was the chair of the Sports and Entertainment Law Society.

Josh Buchholz – Executive Director

Josh Buchholz was named Executive Director of the American Association on January 18, 2018.

Prior to taking the role with the American Association, Buchholz had been the Vice President & General Manager of the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks since October 2005. While with the RedHawks, Buchholz was a part of five league championships (1998, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2010), earned league Executive of the Year honors three times (2008, 2010, 2012) and in 2013 was named to Prairie Business Magazine’s “Top 40 Under 40” business leaders in North Dakota, South Dakota and northwest Minnesota.

Buchholz served as the club’s Director of Media Relations and Director of Baseball Operations before being named the fourth General Manger in franchise history. He joined the organization in 1996 as Clubhouse Manager and was promoted to the front office following the 1997 season.

Buchholz graduated from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota with a Bachelor of Arts in History.

Jake Kranz – Director of Digital Media

Jake Kranz was named the Director of Digital Media for the American Association on November 2, 2020.

A native of North St. Paul, Minnesota, he will graduate this spring from Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota. He is the founder of Willow Creek Media, a full-service marketing agency specializing in brand & marketing strategy and social media production. He also serves as the Chief Marketing Officer for Scholars of Finance, a non-profit with 15+ chapters across the country.

Ron Teague – Director of Umpires

Ron Teague was named the Director of Umpires on October 1, 2018.

Prior to being named the Director of Umpires, Teague was a professional baseball umpire from 2006-2018. From 2006-2010 he was an umpire in the American Association, being selected to four post-season assignments, including three championships. After his four years in the American Association, in 2010 he attended Jim Evans Academy of Professional Umpiring where he was an honor graduate, and eventually earned a contract in the Arizona Rookie League.

From 2010-2018, Teague worked in the Arizona League, Arizona Extended Spring, Appalachian League, Midwest League, Florida Instructional League, California League, Texas League, Arizona Instructional League, Dominican Winter League, Pacific Coast League, 2017 MLB Spring Training. Teague was invited back to MLB Spring Training in 2018 before he resigned from affiliated baseball and re-joined the American Association for a final season on the field. In 2018, he was an American Association crew chief for the regular season and the entire post-season.

Teague’s accolades while in affiliated baseball include the Appalachian League Championship Series, Midwest League All Star Game, California League Umpire of the Year along with an All Star Game and Post season assignment. He also was chosen to work the Texas League All Star Game, MLB Futures Game and MLB Home Run Derby in 2015 in Cincinnati, OH, Dominican Winter League post season and Championship, and the Pacific Coast League Championship.

Teague was also the Chief Instructor at the Minor League Baseball Umpire Academy in Vero Beach, Florida in 2016 and 2017 and was an instructor from 2013-2015. In addition to his professional experience Teague is also an NCAA Division 1 umpire in several conferences, including the SEC.